Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Northwest Minnesota Regional Information

MnDOT District 2

Northwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

Map of ATP-3

Counties of Northwest Minnesota ATP 2: Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Roseau.

Latest news

MnDOT, DEED taking applications for Transportation Economic Development program funding
  • Minnesota cities, counties and other government entities can apply for matching funds for transportation infrastructure projects that support economic development through the Minnesota Department of Transportation and Department of Employment and Economic Development.  More info


Area Transportation Partnerships (ATPs) were created by MnDOT to emphasize greater public involvement, enhance regional planning and increase cooperation development of the four-year State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). Northwest Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership is one of eight ATPs in Minnesota.

Each year, we develop an Area Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP) that lists the state, regional and local transportation priorities for most of the area encompassed by MnDOT District 2. The regional priorities listed in the ATIP are then recommended for inclusion in Minnesota’s STIP.

When developing the program, the ATP 2 considers the transportation priorities of the areas

ATP 2 membership consists of 11 voting and 5 non-voting members comprised of individuals representing counties, cities, regional planning agencies, tribal nations, transit, MnDOT, and other transportation interests. Learn more