Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

I-94 East Metro Interchange

Oakdale, Maplewood, Woodbury

Traffic impacts

Project map of I-94/494/694 Interchange and bridge safety reconstruction

I-94 East Metro Interchange project location map.

Click map for larger version.

All traffic impacts are tentative and weather dependent.

Current

Road closures

Thu, May 21, Tue, May 26, Wed, May 27, Tue, June 2 and Thu, June 4; 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. nightly
  • EB I-94 at the I-494/I-694 interchange is closed
Thu, May 28, Fri, May 29, Mon, June 1, Wed, June 10 and Fri, June 12; 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. nightly
  • WB I-94 at the I-494/I-694 interchange is closed

Lane closures

7 a.m. Wed, April 22 through September
  • WB Tamarack Rd. is reduced to a single lane between Weir Dr. and Bielenberg Dr.
  • EB 10th St. is reduced to a single lane between Hwy 120/Century Ave. and Inwood Ave.

Ramp closures

Thu, May 21, Tue, May 26, Wed, May 27, Tue, June 2 and Thu, June 4; 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. nightly
  • The loop ramp from SB I-694 to EB I-94 is closed
Thu, May 28, Fri, May 29, Mon, June 1, Wed, June 10 and Fri, June 12; 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. nightly
  • The loop ramp from WB I-94 to SB I-694 is closed
Fri, April 24 through September
Wed, April 22 through September
  • The following ramps are closed:
    • Tamarack Rd. entrance to SB I-494
    • NB I-494 exit to Tamarack Rd.
    • 10th St. to NB I-694

Upcoming

Information about upcoming traffic impacts will be provided as details become available.

About this project

The I-94/I-494/I-694 interchange and bridge safety reconstruction project consists of rebuilding the ramp to improve the curvature. The southbound auxiliary lane, buffer lane and reconstructed ramp will provide more space for trucks to slow and better navigate the ramp.

Summary of work

  • Replace and widen northbound and southbound interchange bridges
  • Repair pavement
  • Construct new southbound auxiliary lane from 10th St. to I-94
  • Construct new southbound auxiliary lane from I-94 to Tamarack Rd.
  • Add northbound and southbound buffer lanes
  • Reconstruct ramp