Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News Release

April 4, 2016

Orange barrels on a highway

MnDOT awards $2 million in Safe Routes to School grants

Funding supports safe travel for students to get to school

ST. PAUL, Minn. – More than 60 Minnesota schools will receive a share of $2 million in state and federally funded Safe Routes to Schools grants to support and help students walk or bicycle to and from school safely, according to the Minnesota Department of Transportation.

“Each year, more schools are becoming part of the Safe Routes to School program, which increases opportunities for children to walk and bike to school,” said MnDOT Commissioner Charlie Zelle.

“Safe bicycle and pedestrian access has many benefits, including easing congestion around schools and reducing school transportation costs. Biking and walking also provides a chance for physical activity, which improves health and supports academic achievement.”

Grants were awarded in two categories. Infrastructure grants were given to schools to support projects identified through planning efforts with cities and counties. Planning grants were awarded to schools to analyze existing conditions for walking and biking, gather public input and identify potential solutions.

These schools were awarded infrastructure funds to partner with their sponsors to implement projects:

  • Cass Lake-Bena School, Cass County - $168,538 for a trail connection to the school from Highway 371.
  • Seward Montessori School, Minneapolis - $299,920 for curb extension and other pedestrian crossings improvements along 24th St. E and 29th Ave S.
  • St. Charles Elementary School, Winona County - $300,000 for sidewalk connections and crossing improvements along 11th Street and Highway 74.
  • Barnum Elementary School, Carlton County - $213,086 to fill in sidewalk gaps along Highway 61, North Street and Front Street.
  • Roosevelt Elementary School, Mankato - $229,616 for traffic calming and crossing improvements at Sibley Street and Riverfront Drive.
  • Moreland Arts and Health Science Magnet School, Heritage E-Stem Middle School, West St. Paul – $288,400 for sidewalk connection along Bidwell Street.

These regional development commissions, cities and schools are recipients of planning assistance awards:

  • Region Five Development Commission
    Staples Elementary, Staples High School, Sacred Heart, Motley Elementary and Middle School, Brainerd High School, Forestview Middle School, Baxter Elementary School, Garfield Elementary School, Lowell Elementary, Harrison Elementary, Riverside Elementary.
  • Region Nine Development Commission
    Lake Crystal Wellcome Memorial Secondary, Sibley East Elementary, Springfield Public Schools, District 85; St. Raphael Catholic Schools.
  • Northwest Regional Development Commission
    Ada-Borup Elementary, Ada-Borup High School.
  • East Central Regional Development Commission
    Taylor Falls Elementary.
  • Southwest Regional Development Commission                         

Lincoln Elementary Hills, Beaver Creek Park Side, West Side Middle School, Marshall Area Christian School, High School West, Central Brown, Hill Central Middle School, Central High School, St. John Lutheran School and Early Childhood Learning Center         

  • Arrowhead Regional Development Commission

Vandyke Elementary, Falls Elementary, Falls High/West End Elementary, St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic.           

  • West Central Initiative                     
    Breckenridge Elementary, Breckenridge Middle School, Breckenridge High School, St. Mary's, Henning Public School, Pearson Elementary, Wheaton Area High School.
  • Upper Minnesota Valley Regional Development Commission  
    Stevens Elementary, Dawson-Boyd Secondary School, KMS Elementary, KMS Middle School/High School.           
  • Fridley
    Fridley Middle School, Hayes, R.L. Stevenson Elementary.
  • New Hope
    Meadow Lake Elementary, Sonnesyn Elementary, Robbinsdale Spanish Immersion.
  • Saint Paul and Saint Paul Public Schools
    Hazel Park Elementary, Frost Lake Elementary, Phalen Lake Elementary.
  • Caledonia School District
    ISD 299 Elementary, ISD 299 Middle School/High School, St. Mary's School, St. John's School.
  • Kasson-Mantorville School District
    Kasson-Mantorville Elementary, Kasson-Mantorville Middle School.
  • Minneapolis Public Schools
    Minneapolis will undergo a district-wide update to their Safe Routes to School Strategic Plan.

For more information about Safe Routes to School, go to www.mndot.gov/saferoutes.

# # #

To learn more about funding Minnesota’s transportation system, visit Get Connected at www.dot.state.mn.us/getconnected