Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

West Central Minnesota Regional Information

MnDOT District 4

West Central Minnesota Area Transportation Partnership

Area Transportation Partnerships (ATPs) were created by MnDOT to emphasize greater public involvement, enhance regional planning and increase cooperation development of the four-year State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). West Central Minnesota ATP is one of eight ATPs in Minnesota.

ATP-4 covers 12 counties in west central Minnesota:

  • Becker
  • Big Stone
  • Clay
  • Douglas
  • Grant
  • Mahnomen
  • Otter Tail
  • Pope
  • Stevens
  • Swift
  • Traverse
  • Wilkin

Get involved

Comment on our regional priorities

Each year, we develop an Area Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP) that lists the state, regional and local transportation priorities for most of the area encompassed by MnDOT District 4. The regional priorities listed in the ATIP are then recommended for inclusion in Minnesota’s STIP.

Attend our next meeting

ATP-4 typically meets 3-4 times per year. The next meeting:

  • October-February: Solicit projects
  • February-April: Prioritize and select projects; gather public comments
  • April: Draft ATIP to MnDOT Central Office
  • May-June: Draft STIP review and comment period
  • July-August: MnDOT Central Office develops final STIP
  • August-October: STIP approval by MnDOT Commissioner
  • October-November: STIP approval by FHWA/FTA

ATP-4 membership consists of 13 voting members and six non-voting members, comprised of individuals representing counties, cities, regional planning agencies, tribal nations, transit, MnDOT, and other transportation interests.

Voting members
  • Michael Bowmann Sr., White Earth Nation
  • Nathan Gannon, State Aid Engineer, MnDOT District 4
  • Cindy Gray, Fargo-Moorhead Metro COG
  • Chuck Grotte, Otter Tail County Engineer
  • Kevin Johnson, Becker County Transit Director
  • Todd Johnson, Traverse County Commissioner, Region 4
  • Jeff Kuhn, Morris City Engineer
  • Jonathan Large, Mahnomen County Engineer, Region 2
  • Tom Lundberg, Assistant District Engineer, MnDOT District 4
  • Jay Backer, Big Stone County Commissioner, Region 6W
  • Justin Sorum, Clay County Engineer
  • Gordy Wagner, Pope County Commissioner, Region 4
  • Shiloh Wahl, District Engineer, MnDOT District 4
Non-Voting Members
  • Dan Farnsworth, Fargo-Moorhead Metro COG
  • John Groothuis, Transit Project Manager, MnDOT Office of Transit
  • Dawn Hegland, Upper Minnesota Valley RDC
  • Wayne Hurley, West Central Initiative
  • Tony Klaers, Headwaters RDC
  • Mary Safgren, Planning Director, MnDOT District 4