Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News releases

Feb. 15, 2023

Latest news releases

No travel advised in 12 southwest Minnesota counties

WILLMAR, Minn. – (3:15 a.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation advises no travel on state highways in the following southwest Minnesota counties due to zero visibility: Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Redwood, Renville, Pipestone, and Yellow Medicine. Conditions will be reevaluated at daylight; no travel is advised until conditions improve.

No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of intermittent white out conditions; and some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments are not effective, and conditions can become life-threatening for stranded travelers.