Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

News releases

Feb. 23, 2023

Latest news releases

Update: all 12 counties in SW MN District 8 have no travel advisories and/or road closures

WILLMAR, Minn. – (7:45 p.m.) The Minnesota Department of Transportation has issued additional no travel advisories for southwest Minnesota District 8, which includes Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, and Yellow Medicine counties. No travel is advised on all state highways in these counties overnight and into Thursday. Some roads are closed, see additional information below.

No Travel Advised means that the roadway has deteriorated and/or visibility has been reduced to the point that it is very dangerous to travel; there are reports of whiteout conditions; and some weather conditions can be severe enough that road treatments are not effective, and conditions can become life-threatening for stranded travelers.

No travel is advised overnight at minimum. Travelers should check 511mn.org tomorrow for current road status before making travel decisions.
Road closures

In addition, Highway 14, and all state highways south of Highway 14 in Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Pipestone, and Redwood counties were closed earlier today and remain closed.

When a road is closed it is illegal to travel in that area. Motorists can be fined up to $1,000 and/or sentenced to 90 days in jail. In addition, if travelers need to be rescued from a closed road, other expenses and penalties may apply.