Minnesota Department of Transportation

511 Travel Info

Southwest Minnesota Regional Information

MnDOT District 8

Area Transportation Partnership

MnDOT created Area Transportation Partnership (ATP) to emphasize greater public involvement in preparation of transportation plans and programs. The Southwest Minnesota ATP is one of eight ATPs in Minnesota (one for each MnDOT District area). Every year, the ATPs develop an Annual Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP). ATIPs cover a minimum four -year period. ATIPs include all projects seeking federal aid highway, state trunk highway, and federal transit sources of funding.

Members/Guidance Manual

View MnDOT District 8 ATP members. Members of ATP-8 include:

  • 6 elected officials (2 appointed by each Regional Development Commission)
  • 1 representative of each of the 7 State Aid cities (yearly rotational process)
  • 4 MnDOT District 8 representatives
  • 1 Transit representative
  • 3 county engineers (1 from each Regional Development Commission)

ATP-8 Guidance Manual (Operating Procedures & Policies)


  • Friday, April 7, 2023: 9:00 am-12:00 pm
  • MnDOT Headquarters, Green Lake Conference Room - 2505 Transportation Road, Willmar, MN 56201
  • There will also be a virtual option (see appointment email)



Transportation Alternatives


It is the ATP's responsibility of overseeing the solicitation and creation of the Area Transportation Improvement Program (ATIP). Each of the eight ATPs compose a separate ATIP which, when combined together, create the State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP). ATIPs are approved by June of the incoming fiscal year. The STIP is not official until both the MnDOT Commissioner and FHWA approve it. A STIP may not become approved until December of the first fiscal year of the STIP.

ATIP Outreach-Comments, Questions & Responses


Megan DeSchepper
District Planning Director